Natural Products Expo

Image

By Ivana Bozic

The LA Times did a fantastic job covering the Natural Products Expo in Anaheifor those who weren’t able to attend or simplyweren’t aware. I think it’s important to look at some of the trends they reported on to understand how families are slowlymaking changes.

For a long time children went to school with Capri Sun juices and Gushers fruit chews. With childhood obesity becoming as widespread in America as it is parents are trying to take steps to help their children lead healthier lives.

Juice can now be replaced with different flavored water and unhealthy snacks such as chips can be substituted with kale chips or banana chips. Making the transition to healthier eating habits for kids isn’t as tough as it may seem because companies are working towards making natural products as delicious as they are healthy.

I think one of the most important decisions I made regarding my health was to stop eating meat and incorporate natural foods into my diet to replace the nutrients I would be missing. I automatically noticed that I was having an easier time after meals because I had more energy and didn’t feel stuffed when I was full.

Facebook Study

By: Ivana Bozic

I think this article on Facebook relationship status’ is really interesting because it shows how important social media is to some people.

I don’t have a Facebook anymore for many reasons but one of the main ones was due to other people posting what I thought was irrelevant or just plain childish. When I first made my Facebook page it was fairly new and there weren’t so many “extras” like there are now with applications being added on and new interfaces. Facebook was simple.

Now I see my friends going crazy with refreshing their main page every few minutes and ignoring responsibilities because they simply must see what their boyfriend or girlfriend is talking about and to who they are sending messages.

Relationships on Facebook are becoming more and more difficult to wrap my head around. Just the other day my friend pointed out a girl who changed her relationship status and then commented about how in love she was and how she was going to marry her boyfriend only to two days later change the status to “single” again. It’s become sort of an obsession to some to change their status right away so people can see that they have a significant other. People lose sleep over this and there have been enough cases resulting in murder or assault simply off of someones relationship activity on their profile.

I think Facebook jealousy is just going to get worse and unhealthier for people.

Antidepressant Study

By: Ivana Bozic

I think the most common misconception about antidepressants is that they’re dangerous for everyone and especially younger people. Family members on my mom’s side have all suffered with depression and I fell into that category as well. It was never talked about or mentioned in my house but I remember when I became old enough to understand the commercials on TV talking about it and I asked my mom what it meant.

Five years later I had therapy appointments and I was taking antidepressants. I don’t remember waking up one morning and saying I feel sad I should tell someone, it was something that kept building up and my family began to notice I was changing. I had no idea anything was different about me but those around me sure did.

The LA Times claims a study now suggests that antidepressants don’t influence suicidal thoughts in young people and I think this is extremely important to talk about.  I don’t know what I would be like today if I didn’t have proper treatment for my depression, it’s not just something that can be cured with a long nap or watching a funny movie.

It almost seemed taboo for a while to even mention that your child was taking antidepressants because there were so many negative connotations associated with them and yet here they are still getting me through my daily routines. I never felt anything remotely related to suicide or self harming but I do know that I struggled with both before being diagnosed.

Two Farms Quarantined for Mad Cow Disease

By Lissette Talledo

The U.S. Department of Agriculture have quarantined two farms as they continue to investigate mad cow disease. Last month the USDA discovered mad cow disease at a California dairy farm.

Last week, the USDA documented the fourth confirmed case of mad cow disease in California. Mad cow disease is a brain wasting disease which affects cattle.

USDA  officials said the cow was not a threat since it wasn’t set out for human consumption.

The farm where the cow was discovered is being quarantined as well as another farm which is closely related to the first one.

They are investigating to see if there are more diseased cows in either of the two farms.

India Drugmaker Cipla Cuts Prices of Generic Drug

By Lissette Talledo

Indian drugmaker Cipla has cut the generic version of Bayer’s Nevaxar by 75 percent. These are lung and brain cancer drugs which will be sold at 6,840 Rupees a month.

That is compared to how much Bayer sells these drugs for at 284, 428 per month.

Cipla says they do not expect these price cuts will affect their revenue. The products already have low volumes.

The reason for their decision is to make these drugs more affordable to patients.

Bayer is suing Cipla for patent infringement over Nexavar in court.

This occurred two months after India decided to allow another drugmaker to make a cheaper version of drugs despite Bayer’s objections.

Vogue: Skinny, Underage Model Ban

By Lissette Talledo

Vogue editors of all 19 editions have decided to ban the use of skinny models under 16. The purpose is an attempt to change the fashion industry for a healthier body image.

The editors made a six-point pact where they pledge to not knowingly use models under 16 or ones who appear to have an eating disorder.

Casting directors will also have to check the model’s ID before photo shoots as well as encourage healthy habits backstage.

Fashion designers will be encouraged to consider the consequences of using extremely small sample sizes.

In 2009, the Vogue editor for the UK criticized fashion houses for sending clothes too small for their models.

Worldwide Premature births: More than 1 out 10 babies

By Lissette Talledo

The World Health Organization released a joint report that suggests 15 million babies around the world are born prematurely each year. One million of them die immediately after birth.

Babies born before 37 weeks are considered premature, whereas full term babies are born at 40 weeks.

Being born premature is the second-leading cause of death in children under 5 worldwide. However, those who do survive may develop learning difficulties and other problems.

UN experts say that simple and inexpensive care can help keep these babies alive.

One example of that would be preventing cord infection by using antiseptic cream.

There are inequalities in survival rates for different countries, especially in Sub-Saharan Africa.

Dental Health and Energy Drinks


By Lissette Talledo

For the first time, researchers have looked into the effects between energy drinks and dental health.

Researchers have found that the high amounts of citric acid in the energy drinks cause enamel loss. Loss of enamel makes teeth more likely to get cavities and may lead to decay.

Researchers compared enamel loss in both energy and sports drinks but found that enamel loss was greater with energy drinks.

Dentists are primarily worried about teens  since 30 to 50 percent are estimated to be energy drink consumers.

Beverage companies are not required to label how much citric acid their product contains.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

